Club World Cup: Real Madrid begin their fifth title quest in the semi-finals | UEFA Champions League

UEFA Champions League holders Real Madrid will kick off their FIFA Club World Cup campaign against Seattle Sounders, Al Ahly or Auckland City in Morocco on Wednesday 8 February.

Club World Cup Schedule

02/01 Al Ahly – Auckland City (first leg)
02/04 Seattle Sounders – Al Ahly / Auckland City (second round)
02/04 Wydad Casablanca – Al-Hilal (second half)
02/07 Flamengo – Wydad Casablanca / Al-Hilal (semi-finals)
02/08 Seattle Sounders / Al Ahly / Auckland City – Real Madrid (semi-finals)
02/11 The match for third place
02/11 Final

What is the Club World Cup?

The Club World Cup is an annual tournament organized by FIFA involving the winners from the six continental confederations and the champions from the host country. European teams have won each of the last nine editions, including Chelsea in Abu Dhabi last year.

Chelsea won the Club World Cup in 2022Getty’s image

Who takes part in the Club World Cup?

Entering the first round
Auckland City (New Zealand)
Al Ahly (Egypt)

Entering the second half
Al Hilal (Saudi Arabia)
Seattle Sounders (USA)
Wydad Casablanca (Morocco)

Entering the semifinals
Flamengo (Brazil)
Real Madrid (Spain)

When and where is the Club World Cup taking place?

The Club World Cup will take place in two cities in Morocco – Rabat and Tangier – from Wednesday 1ᵉʳ to Saturday 11 February.

How did Real Madrid qualify for the Club World Cup?

2022 Champions League final summary: Liverpool 0-1 Real Madrid

Madrid beat Liverpool 1-0 in the UEFA Champions League final in Paris thanks to a Vinícius Júnior goal just before the hour mark, advancing to the all-time top of the table – and coach Carlo Ancelotti broke all records by signing his fourth win.

Club World Cup record

Real Madrid 4 (2014, 2016, 2017, 2018)
Barcelona 3 (2009, 2011, 2015)
Bayern Munich 2 (2013, 2021)
Corinthians 2 (2000, 2012)
AC Milan 1 (2007)
Chelsea 1 (2022)
International 1 (2006)
Inter Milan 1 (2010)
Liverpool 1 (2019)
Manchester United 1 (2008)
Sao Paulo 1 (2005)

Most successful country

7: Spain
4: Brazil
3: English
2: Germany, Italy

Most successful club*

Real Madrid 7 (1960, 1998, 2002; 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018)
AC Milan 4 (1969, 1989, 1990; 2007)
Bayern Munich 4 (1976, 2001; 2013, 2021)
Barcelona 3 (2009, 2011, 2015)
Boca Juniors 3 (1977, 2000, 2003)
Inter Milan 3 (1964, 1965; 2010)
National 3 (1971, 1980, 1988)
Penarol 3 (1961, 1966, 1982)
Sao Paulo 3 (1992, 1993; 2005)

*European and South American Cups and the FIFA Club World Cup.

Real Madrid just won the 2018 Club World Cup

Real Madrid just won the 2018 Club World CupGetty’s image

Club World Cup goalscorers from European teams

7: Cristiano Ronaldo (Man United, Real Madrid)

6: Gareth Bale (Real Madrid)

5: Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Luis Suarez (Barcelona)

3: Nicolas Anelka (Real Madrid), Karim Benzema (Real Madrid), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United)

2: Adriano (Barcelona), Peter Crouch (Liverpool), Roberto Firmino (Liverpool), Quinton Fortune (Manchester United), Raúl González (Real Madrid), Filippo Inzaghi (AC Milan), Robert Lewandowski (Bayern), Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea) , Pedro Rodríguez (Barcelona), own goal

1: Jonathan Biabiany (Inter Milan), Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Nicky Butt (Manchester United), Dante (Bayern Munich), Deco (Barcelona), Samuel Eto’o (Inter Milan), Cesc Fàbregas (Barcelona), Darren Fletcher ( Manchester United), Geremi (Real Madrid), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Mario Götze (Bayern Munich), Eidur Gudjohnsen (Barcelona), Kai Havertz (Chelsea), Xavi Hernández (Barcelona), Fernando Hierro (Real Madrid), Isco ( Real Madrid), Kaká (AC Milan), Naby Keïta (Liverpool), Seydou Keita (Barcelona), Marcos Llorente (Real Madrid), Mario Mandžukić (Bayern Munich), Rafael Márquez (Barcelona), Juan Mata (Chelsea), Maxwell ( Barcelona), Diego Milito (Inter Milan), Luka Modrić (Real Madrid), Fernando Morientes (Real Madrid), Alessandro Nesta (AC Milan), Goran Pandev (Inter Milan), Franck Ribéry (Bayern Munich), Benjamin Pavard (Bayern Munich ), Ronaldinho (Barcelona), Sávio (Real Madrid), Clarence Seedorf (AC Milan), Dejan Stankovic (Inter Milan), Thiago Alcántara (Bayern Munich), Fernan do T Orres (Chelsea), Nemanja Vidic (Manchester United), Dwight Yorke (Manchester United), Javier Zanetti (Inter Milan)

Cristiano Ronaldo celebrates a goal at the Club World Cup

Cristiano Ronaldo celebrates a goal at the Club World CupCorbis via Getty Images

Gareth Bale celebrating a Club World Cup goal

Gareth Bale celebrating a Club World Cup goalGetty’s image

Lionel Messi celebrates his Club World Cup goal

Lionel Messi celebrates his Club World Cup goalAFP via Getty Images

Luis Suárez celebrating a goal at the Club World Cup

Luis Suárez celebrating a goal at the Club World CupFIFA via Getty Images

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *